Written by Derek Ahonen
Directed by James Kautz

June 26th – Aug 9th, 2014

A surrealistic exploration of the pleasures and pains of addiction, The Qualification of Douglas Evans recounts the life of playwright Douglas Evans and his pursuit of acceptance in a warped world of women, family and art. From his trials as a wide-eyed teenager to his descent into the ills of artistic success, this is a coming-of-age tale of rock bottoms, bright skies and the will to rise above one’s inner animal.

Derek Ahonen
Penny Bittone
Mandy Nicole Moore
Agatha Nowicki
Samantha Strelitz
Kelley Swindall
Barbara Weetman

Set Design: David Harwell
Lighting Design: Brad Peterson
Custume Design: Lux Haac
Sound Design: Phil Carluzzo
Special Effects: Stephanie Cox-Williams
Dramaturg – Qualification: Francine Volpe
Assistant Director – Qualification: Alfred Schatz
Producer: – Zico Whifield
General Management – Form Theatricals
Production Manager – Jeremy Pape
Stage Manager – Kayla Tate
Marketing Associates – Sam Horvath and Brett Sher
Production Associate – Gary Jaffe
Assistant Production Designer – Lisa Renkel
Production Interns – Ace Gilliam, Michael Czyz, Andrea Edgerson, Emelia Brawn
Carpenters – Mark Eccleston, Mackenzie Knapp, Kevin Boyko, Karl King, Tom Grey, Whitney McCallister, James Noble, Michael Muench, Will Singer, Alan Cobb, Grant Ragan, Austin Hannah, Laura Provenzani, Bebe Woodall, Huntsville Community Ballet
Electricians – Chrisophers Linaris, Huascar Pimentel, Christal Boyd

“The amoralists transform old wine (boozing author) into a heady brew”

Time Out

“Ahonen’s tightly knit episodic drama treats alcoholism as the complicated affiliation it is.”

The Village Voice

“The amoralists… head toward a new maturity and a willingness to continue breaking new ground and exploring uncharted territory. DEMANDS TO BE SEEN”

This Week In New York

“It’s all very insightful, upsetting, freakishly weird, thought-provoking, and damn entertaining. ANOTHER TRIUMPHANT FOR THE AMORALISTS. ”

nytheatre now

From the Show

The Amoralists 8th Season was made possible through major support from Nicholas Cimato.

Many thanks to The Amoralists Producer’s Core for their generous support of our 8th Season: Oliver Dow, The Dramatists Guild Fund, Lois Gallagher, Jeffrey Matchen and Debra Dandeneau, William McCue, Jeffrey Steinman, Anthony Sweeney, Robert Cole, Carl and Jeanette Rachuig, and Carl White.

Public support received from the New York State Council on the Arts.